The 2014 season has finally arrived for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Defending series champion, Matt Crafton was looking to continue his strong run of consistency at Daytona International Speedway and begin his defense of his 2013 title run.

It was Ben Kennedy who earned the pole after qualifying was rained out due to weather. Along side of him was series veteran Ron Hornaday would start second.

To start  the race drivers didn’t push the envelope and ran really two wide as the field took the competition caution at lap 20, Kennedy would lead the field to pit road and off of pit road.

The field took the green flag for the restart and the field went back to double file but the outside lane could not get going early on.

Just after halfway, Jennifer Jo Cobb ran out of fuel and bring out the caution. The field went under caution just as many of  the leaders were going to have to pit.

Kennedy had his struggles during the stop. After he pitted he was unable to get re-fired and lost the lead along with his track position. Kyle Busch would be the leader coming back to the green.

Kennedy would restart in the top five but business was beginning to pick up with less than 30 laps to go.

The first and only multi truck accident happened when Ross Chastain hit Parker Kligerman and set off a wreck that colected Bubba Wallace, Mason Mingus, John King, Kligerman, and Joey Coulter along with a few others.

All the drivers walked away unscathed.

With 18 laps to go Busch would lead the field back to green but caution waved when the 50 of Travis Kvapil lost an engine with 14 laps to go.

Business picked up with 12 laps to go on the restart. With Busch leading the field on the restart; his first win at DIS in the CWTS was within his grasp.

The top line went nowhere for the first 90 laps but the only driver who had been able to get the top moving forward was Timothy Peters. He had done it early in the race and with the laps winding down the time was now to make his move.

Finally after the entire race being run on the bottom of the top lane began to move when  Peters picked up the outside lane and Ryan Truex.

Peters would take the lead but a well timed pass by Busch coming out of turn four and Busch would finally win at DIS.

The rest of the top 10 were Peters, Johnny Sauter, Ryan Truex, Hornaday, Ryan Blaney, Jeb Burton, Joe Nemechek, Jimmy Weller, German Quiroga, Ryan Sieg and Tyler Reddick.

Defending series champion, Crafton who never finished outside the top 10 in 2013 wound up 13th.

Next up for the CWTS is Martinsville on March 29.