Elliott Sadler won the NASCAR Nationwide Series Bashas' Supermarkets 200 from Phoenix International Raceway. It's his first win in the Nationwide Series since 1998.

Sadler went winless last season, and saw his championship hopes come to an end at this same race track last November. Sadler told MRN Radio in victory lane, "I don't have to answer that doggone question anymore about when I'm going to win a race."

Sadler took the lead on a late restart. He restarted second in the outside lane and shot past leader Brad Keselowski to take the lead in turn three. Keselowski made a late charge to get right to Sadler's back bumper, but wasn't able to make a move to take the lead.

The race was dominated by Sadler's Richard Childress Racing teammate Kevin Harvick, but Harvick was relegated to a fifth place finish. Harvick took four tires on the final caution and that dropped him to seventh from the lead. Harvick got back to as high as fourth, but was beat to the line by his other RCR teammate Austin Dillon.

Dillon got a hard-fought fourth place finish. He almost wrecked his car twice in the first 80 laps of the race, but kept the car clean and managed to rally at the end.

Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr, made some crazy moves all race long to get himself a third place finish. Stenhouse cut the dogleg on the backstretch more than any other driver did today, and even found himself in the middle, three-wide coming out of turn four.

Three-time IndyCar Series champion Sam Hornish Jr. brought his car home in sixth place. Last November's PIR winner ran in the top 10 almost all race long.


With James Buescher winning last week in Daytona, and Sadler winning today in Phoenix, no Sprint Cup Series regulars have won a Nationwide Series race yet. It's the first time in 11 years that the first two NNS races were won by NNS regulars.

Trevor Bayne finished seventh, Joey Logano finished eighth , Kyle Busch finished eleventh, Kasey Kahne finished eighteenth, and Danica Patrick finished twenty-first, three laps down.

Top 10:

Elliott Sadler

Brad Keselowski

Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Austin Dillon

Kevin Harvick

Sam Hornish Jr.

Trevor Bayne

Joey Logano

Denny Hamlin

Michael Annett