It seems like early in the season the Camping World Truck Series never can get a rhythm with the schedule. After nearly one month off the CWTS head back to the track at Kansas Speedway for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 250.

Ron Hornaday earned the pole and would lead the field to green Sunday afternoon.

Early on it was Hornaday pacing the field but multiple cautions changed the complexion of the race. Wrecks with Tayler Malsam and Rick Crawford, then Matt Crafton wrecked. It changed the front half of the field.

Jennifer Jo Cobb was a hometown favorite but her day was over early when she got loose and suffered a lot of damage to the back of the truck.

Early leader Hornaday hit pit road to double check the tires and make sure there was plenty of clearance. He lost all his track position and would be forced to work his back to the front and avoid getting involved in a wreck.

We saw pit road penalties hamper some drivers march to the front. Aric Amirola was penalized for passing before the start finish line. He had to make a drive thru penalty which put him on the tail end of the lead lap.

Amirola got the lucky dog on the caution for Terry Jones. With a good truck he worked his way from the back of the pack to back in the top 10.

Johnny Sauter took over the lead when Hornaday pitted off sequence. Sauter hasn’t won since Las Vegas last season; he was hungry for victory lane. They had a very strong race truck

For the point leader Timothy Peters it was not the day he hoped. He was running in the top five for most of the first half the race, they suffered battery issues and forced under green to change the battery.

In the end it came down to Mother Nature and whether or not the race would run to the scheduled finish. Hornaday took back the lead from Brian Ickler on lap 102.  It was go time for these teams with the possibility of rain coming.

The race was red flagged when the rain came but over an hour later the trucks were back on track with 50 to go.

It came down to Sauter and Hornaday who were racing so hard they nearly wrecked when Hornaday got loose. Hornaday lost ground to Sauter who pulled away after the almost wreck.

Sauter was able to pull away from Hornaday and pull into victory lane.

 The rest of top 10 finishers were Hornaday, Todd Bodine, Ickler, Johnny Benson, Austin Dillon, Amirola, Mike Skinner, Kenny Schrader and David Starr.

Next they head to Dover for a Friday night race under the lights on Friday May 14th, on SPEED.