Friday afternoon the NASCAR Nationwide series hit the track for qualifying at Texas Motor Speedway.

During the final practice on Friday morning, it was rookie Brian Scott who topped the speed charts. Not that far behind was Justin Allgaier, Steve Wallace, Carl Edwards and Trevor Bayne.

When qualifying began much of the top five in practice speeds had early qualifying draws.

The winner of the pole for Saturday’s race was Joey Logano.

Toyota once again showed why they have won as many races as they have with Logano winning the pole with a lap of 29.08 seconds. This is his third pole of the year in the NNS.

Trevor Bayne had a great qualifying with a lap of 29.34, he will start 14th. Kyle Busch who is going for five wins in a row at the track will start third.

Of the Ford’s the fastest qualifier was Carl Edwards, he went out second but his lap of 29.19 was enough to start fourth.

Paul Menard who is off to a solid start in the NNS this season will start ninth after a fast lap of 29.30.

Greg Biffle would be one driver who would like a do over for qualifying. He lost it coming off of turn two and posted the slowest lap of the day only 33.98 second lap. He will start 43rd.

Chevrolet was not to be out done, Clint Bowyer who was driving the No. 21 for the second week in a row for Jon Wes Townley, laid down an impressive time himself of 29.13 seconds. He will start outside of Logano in second.

Jamie McMurray who is driving the No. 88 for nine races this season flexed some muscle with a 29.28 second lap, starting seventh Saturday.

The lone Dodge manufacturer in NASCAR is Penske Racing. Current point’s leader Brad Keselowski put down a solid lap and will start 12th. His teammate, Justin Allgaier who is having a great start to the season will start, 18th after a 29.44 second lap.

Some other qualifying results were Kenny Wallace will start 39th. His brother Mike Wallace will start, 34th he is currently in the top 10 in points. Justin Lofton will start 31st.   

Of the go and go homers most notable was Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Colin Braun. Both had to qualify on time and both made the show with Stenhouse starting fifth and Braun starting 11th.

The drivers that did not qualify for the race were Morgan Shepard, Josh Wise, Danny O’Quinn, Derrick Cope and Jason Keller.

The O’Reilly 300 is Saturday at 3ET on ESPN2.